Digital doorbell vs Ring, Nest and Eufy: the 2026 comparison

By the Dringbell team

In short: Ring, Nest and eufy are excellent door cameras, but they are devices to mount, powered by battery or wiring, and video history often requires a subscription. Dringbell is a hardware-free digital doorbell: your visitors scan a QR code and you receive the audio or video call on your phone, without giving out your number. Free to start, nothing to install.

Choosing a smart doorbell often means choosing a device to install, power and maintain. This comparison puts Dringbell's hardware-free approach up against the market leaders — Ring, Nest and eufy, then Blink, Arlo, Tapo and EZVIZ — on the criteria that really matter day to day: real cost, installation, subscription and lifespan.

Detailed comparison table

Dringbell vs Ring · Nest · eufy
CriterionDringbellFree or €4.99/monthRing Battery Video Doorbell Plus€179.99 + €3.99/monthGoogle Nest Doorbell€199.99 + €10/montheufy E340€199.99
Purchase price€0€179.99€199.99€199.99
Installation2 minutes, no toolsBracket to screw onBracket to screw onUnit to install at the door
PowerNone (visitor side)Rechargeable battery or wiringRechargeable battery or wiringRechargeable battery or wiring
Without a subscriptionFree plan: 7 days of historyLive view only, nothing is recorded3 hours of history8 GB built in, up to 60 days
Theft exposureNone (printed QR code)Unit visible at the doorUnit visible at the doorUnit visible at the door
Reaching the right personThe visitor picks the household memberOne button for the whole householdOne button for the whole householdOne button for the whole household
Visitor identificationBefore the call: the visitor introduces themselvesFamiliar faces as a paid optionFamiliar faces with a subscriptionPerson and package detection
Renter-friendlyYes, no holes at allBracket screwed to the wallBracket screwed to the wallUnit fixed at the door
Where data is storedIn Europe (Ireland, servers in Paris)Not stated (transfers outside the EU possible)Not statedVideos stored locally by default
5-year cost€0 to €479.50€419.39€799.99€199.99

An honest comparison, with no sponsor. Prices checked on September 15, 2026 on the manufacturers' official websites in France.

Our verdict, brand by brand

Dringbell or Ring: which one to choose?

Ring (Amazon) offers a reliable camera and a large ecosystem, but it's a bracket to screw on, a battery to recharge and, without a subscription, no video is recorded: you need Ring Solo to keep your history. Dringbell takes the opposite approach: nothing to screw on, nothing to recharge, a free plan with 7 days of history and data hosted in Europe. Choose Ring if you want a permanent security camera; choose Dringbell if you simply want to welcome your visitors, with no hardware and no commitment.

Dringbell or Nest Doorbell: which one to choose?

Google's Nest Doorbell detects people and packages without a subscription and keeps 3 hours of history for free; beyond that, and to recognise familiar faces, you need Google Home Premium. With that subscription it is the most expensive of the three over 5 years, and it screws to the wall. Dringbell has no facial recognition, by privacy choice: the visitor introduces themselves before the call. Choose Nest if you're already set up with Google and want a smart camera; choose Dringbell to get started immediately, with no mandatory subscription.

Dringbell or Eufy: which one to choose?

The eufy E340 stands out with 8 GB of local storage (up to 60 days, no subscription), a real strength compared with Ring and Nest. But it is still a device to install at the door, powered by battery or wiring, and visible to everyone. Dringbell shares this no-forced-subscription philosophy and goes further: no hardware to install or protect. Choose eufy if you want a physical camera with no recurring fees; choose Dringbell if you prefer zero installation and a QR code that costs nothing to replace.

What about Blink, Arlo, Tapo or EZVIZ?

In short: these four doorbells are cheaper to buy, but they are still devices to mount and power. The EZVIZ EP8 Ultra records without a subscription (32 GB built in), and so does the Tapo D230S1 if you add a microSD card; Blink and Arlo record nothing without a subscription or accessory.

What about Blink, Arlo, Tapo or EZVIZ?
ModelPurchase priceSubscription with historyWithout a subscription5-year cost
Blink Video Doorbell€64.99launch price€3/monthLive view only; local recording with Sync Module 2 and a USB drive (not included)€244.99
Arlo Essential 2K€159.99Arlo Secure: €7.99/monthLive view and motion detection, no storage€639.39
TP-Link Tapo D230S1€139.99Tapo Care Basic: from €3.99/monthmicroSD card in the included hub (card not included)€379.39
EZVIZ EP8 Ultra€149.99CloudPlay: €4.99/month32 GB built in and familiar face recognition€449.39

5-year cost = purchase price + 60 months of the cheapest subscription that keeps video history.

What about Netatmo? Netatmo stopped selling its Smart Video Doorbell on 31 March 2024; software updates and security patches are promised until 31 March 2029.

Frequently asked questions

Does a digital doorbell really replace a Ring or a Nest?
To receive and talk to your visitors, yes: Dringbell delivers the audio or video call to your phone as soon as someone scans the QR code. The difference is that there is no camera under permanent surveillance: Dringbell is a doorbell, not a video surveillance system.
Which smart doorbell is cheapest over 5 years?
Over 5 years, Dringbell costs from €0 (free plan) to €479.50 (Premium paid yearly). With the cheapest subscription that keeps video history, count €419.39 for Ring, €799.99 for Nest and €449.39 for EZVIZ. The eufy E340, with no subscription, comes to €199.99.
Can you install a smart doorbell in a rental without drilling?
With Ring, Nest or eufy, it's difficult: they are devices to mount at the door, battery-powered or wired. Dringbell installs without a single hole: a QR code printed at the door is all it takes, ideal for renters and apartment buildings.
Do you have to give out your phone number?
No. Dringbell works with an email account and push notifications, with no phone number — a privacy argument that classic camera doorbells don't offer.

Sources and method

Prices including VAT, checked on September 15, 2026 on the manufacturers' official stores and pages in France, excluding promotions. The Blink price is the launch price announced by Amazon. Prices change: check before buying.

Read next

Ready to try the no-hardware doorbell?

Create your digital doorbell free in 2 minutes. No credit card, no hardware, no phone number.

Create my free doorbell